Community Development

Arcata's Community Development Department is composed of three divisions with the primary purpose of ensuring that City development activities comply with state, federal, and local laws. The three divisions of Community Development are:

  • Planning
  • Housing
  • Economic Development

Planning Division

The Planning Division is responsible for long- and short-range City planning and implementation, development and design review and permitting, and annexations.  Staff is also involved with historic properties in Arcata, environmental review, grant applications and administration.

Housing Division

The Housing Division develops and manages affordable housing programs, and works with developers to create affordable housing. Housing Programs.

Economic Development Division

The  Economic Development Division is responsible for developing and managing various business loan programs, including Business Assistance loans and Microenterprise loans.  In addition to underwriting loans, Staff works with grant applications that fund the business loan programs, and administration.

Economic Development also manages the Foodworks Culinary Center, a successful incubator for small food manufacturers.  Rental of the facility on a monthly or per-use basis allows food manufacturers to use a food-grade quality facility with storage and equipment necessary for the high quality foodstuffs manufactured in Arcata.  Read about the Foodworks Culinary Center!

Successor Agency

The "Successor Agency" is a temporary part of Community Development.  Its role is to wind down the affairs of the City's former Redevelopment Agency, as all redevelopment agencies were dissolved Statewide by Governor Brown in 2012. Community Development staff manage the Successor Agency, which is overseen by the Oversight Board.